Twitter user @impressionsAS claimed that all BJP MLAs of Punjab have joined the Congress but the media has not reported the development.

A similar claim has been made in Hindi on Twitter and Facebook. One Mohan Murari Yadawa posted this claim on an Akhilesh Yadav fan page on Facebook with over one lakh members. It gained over 1,000 reactions. It was also shared by Facebook page हमारा हिंदुस्तान प्यारा सा हिन्दुस्तान.

(Hindi text: पंजाब BJP के तीनों विधायक कांग्रेस में शामिल BJP विधायक संख्या 00000000 भाजपा मुक्त पंजाबबधाई हो)


According to the claim, Punjab doesn’t have a single representative from the BJP since they have joined Congress. If this was true, it would have been extensively reported in the media. But there are no reports.

More importantly, there are currently two BJP MLAs in the Punjab Legislative Assembly.

Alt News spoke with the two BJP representatives in Punjab Arun Narang and Dinesh Singh. They categorically refuted the claims.

Sujanpur MLA Dinesh Singh said, “This is fake news. I have never expressed such sentiments. I heard the same was said about Som Prakash and Arun Narang. Prakash is no longer an MLA. I spoke with Arun Narang. We aren’t leaving BJP.”

Abohar MLA Arun Narang confirmed the same to Alt News.

Social media users falsely claimed that BJP MLAs in Punjab have joined Congress however, as per the Punjab Legislative Assembly website, BJP has two MLAs in the state.

Donate to Alt News!
Independent journalism that speaks truth to power and is free of corporate and political control is possible only when people start contributing towards the same. Please consider donating towards this endeavour to fight fake news and misinformation.

Donate Now

About the Author

🙏 Blessed to have worked as a fact-checking journalist from November 2019 to February 2023.